Latent State at the Museum of Jurassic Technology

This post comes out with some delay… but the event that took place almost a month ago deserves some mention in the blog. Thanks to the kindness of David Wilson and the assistance of Alexis Hayman, I was able to perform my piece “Latent State” at the Museum of Jurassic Technology, on June 19th, 2009. For me this is one of the most fascinating places in Los Angeles, a Museum of strange relics and artifacts from the “lower Jurassic”. If you are in L.A., I would strongly recommend to visit the MJT. I won’t give anything else away, but for those interested in digging some information online, here you relevant have some links.

Event flier made by Tifffany Pan

So, the chance of doing Latent State at the MJT made me very happy and grateful to David and Alexis. The Museum is in fact a very appropriate location for my piece, given the theme of “Latent State” and also the techniques I’m using in it. We decided to stage the performance in the Borzoi Cabinet Theater, located in the second floor of the Museum.  Many of the exhibits in the second floor (the space paintings, the Tsiolkovsky sketches) were a particularly good match. However, the space was quite different from the original setting in the EDA performance. I had no space for the multiple props I used back then, and this time I was restricted to a single projector/screen. This constrains in fact made me to focus in the central elements of the piece, and also to rethink the piece in terms of a single attention point.

The physical arrangement also turned to be quite interesting from a conceptual point of view: the stage area (with the new mini moving panorama I built specially for this performance) was located right below the cinema screen. So the “shooting” of the movie occurred (almost) in the same space as the projection of the resulting image. I think this a great example of the this idea of  open and closed liminality discussed in a previous post.

Here is short video containing some excerpts from the performance:

and here there is an extended version which, although edited, shows the entire flow of the narrative:

Finally I want to thank Tiffany Pan for designing the flier and passes for the event, and Michael Kontopoulos for helping me out with transporting the gear from UCLA to the Museum and back.

About this entry